American Kenpo or Wing Chun? Help me Decide Which Style to Study!

Carpathian

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey, everyone! This is my very first post on MartialTalk so I would like to start off by saying hello and that I look forward to interacting with you all. Now, on to the main point of this post. I studied Karate when I was younger (Kyokushinkai & Matsumura Shorin Ryu) but I ended up not sticking with it because of school and school related sports taking up most of my time. Long story short I have just recently graduated from college and am looking to get back into studying the martial arts! I took a lot of time researching what styles are offered in my area and I also took the time to research the credibility of the individuals that teach in my area. Given my research I have boiled it down to two options: Wing Chun or American Kenpo. The reason I would like to study Wing Chun is because I like its emphasis on speed, technique, and just its overall scientific feel. On the flipside American Kenpo is attractive to me because it is a hybrid of karate and kung fu and was constantly updated by Ed Parker during his lifetime in order to make it more and more combat effective in the street. Now, I can study Wing Chun for about 125 bucks a month or I can take the American Kenpo classes for about 60 bucks a month. The cheaper Kenpo classes are really screaming out to me but I am still pretty torn between the two. So, basically, I am looking for some help in deciding which style I should study. I realize that no style is "better" than another, it is entirely based on the fighter him/herself. What I am looking for is something that will suit me best. I will try to give as much information as possible in regards to my body type/what I am looking for in a martial art.

Profile:
-22 years old
-150lbs
-5'10''(height)

Strengths:
-Speed
-Timing
-Quick Thinking

What I am Looking For:
-Discipline
-Physical Fitness
-Street Effectiveness