Augmented Reality as a tool to teach poomsaes?

kennardconsulting

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm a solo software developer trying to develop a new tool for teaching Taekwondo poomsae using Augmented Reality. Here's a video of the app so far. I'd love feedback from this community!

It's available to download for free at PozeAR

BaehrTKD

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm a solo software developer trying to develop a new tool for teaching Taekwondo poomsae using Augmented Reality. Here's a video of the app so far. I'd love feedback from this community!

It's available to download for free at PozeAR
This is something I've wanted to do years ago already. I'm also a software developer. Maybe we should partner up?

isshinryuronin

Master of Arts
Reaction score
While this is an interesting, impressive and perhaps advanced software app, IMO it's of little/no value in teaching karate. It shows the weapon and target, but not how to get the weapon to the target. This is the most important thing. No info on stance, power generation, balance, form, trajectory, etc. It's missing 90% of even the basic story.

I'm not talking as a software designer, but as a karate instructor. In my view, such a program may be fun for those who want to play at martial arts, and it may sell well at Christmas. You may be on to something in this regard.

For real martial art training, even the most basic kind, there must be some feedback on one's movement and other elements I mentioned. To accomplish this, several more years may be needed for development and access to very advanced technology at a marketable price. For now, videos are a better teaching tool.

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
If your software can coordinate

- hand with foot,
- elbow with knee,
- shoulder with hip,

It will have great value.

Last edited:

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I think it's an interesting tool, but it's also such a niche market you're targeting. You're looking for people who: