Attended my first Kali class today.

Benevolentbob

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm starting at a new gym and today was my first kali class. I've never done anything with weapons before but it was the most fun I've had in a long time. First we went over how to hold a knife and then worked on drills for most of the class before strapping on some goggles and sparred with the practice knives for the last few minutes. In the sparring I did pretty well with intercepting attacks but still got caught from time to time. My little moment of pride was went I sliced down the bicep to the wrist and knocked the knife out of my opponent's hand, took his back in a rear-naked choke esque hold bringing him to the ground and peppered his torso with the practice knife until the instructor stood us up saying "That was some splinter cell **** right there" :ultracool. All in all a successful first kali lesson and I'm pumped for more. I've got JKD tomorrow morning and then later in the evening as well, definitely liking this gym so far. Don't have kali again until Wednesday evening though.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Isn't it great how you can train in weapons on your very first day? :D

So glad you liked your first class!

OP
Benevolentbob

Benevolentbob

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Thanks guys, I'm really looking forward to learning more and developing my skills in this art. So far I am very pleased with it.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Sounds like you had a good time! :)

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
That's how I felt after my first FMA class about three decades ago ...and I still feel that way. It's still a mystery to me why FMAs aren't the most popular martial arts around. But I'm lucky to get about one out of five of my students to even try it. The rest just want to do straight Ving Tsun!?! Go figure.

billc

Grandmaster
Reaction score