"Applied Tae Kwon Do"

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
Tomorrow I'm starting to play in a church softball league, and I have some thoughts as far as TKD and Softball.

First off, I've played on and off for a few years, maybe a couple games a year at most, so I'm not really experienced.

Also the more time I spend in Tae Kwon Do and the more time I've watched baseball players, it seems to me that the difference between throwing 85mph and 95mph is mostly one of body mechanics. Like a strike in martal arts, the speed of the ball depends on the speed of the hand at the point of release, and there is a lot you can do with your body to make that faster, other than just muscle strength, starting from your legs and hips and shoulders.

One thing my short time in Tae Kwon Do has taught me is that for a strike to be powerful, the weapon has to be moving fast, and part of moving fast is to stay relaxed so your muscles are loose so they do not fight each other. Tensing up means that that the opposing muscles fight against each other and you cannot extend as fast. You stay loose until the moment of impact, *then* everything tightens into a rigid striking weapon so that the energy goes into the target and not back into you. Stay loose, then tight; timing is crucial.

Also, like a good jab or reverse punch or roundhouse kick or sidekick, the lower body is important. When you jab, you transfer your weight forward a bit to get body mass behind the punch. When you roundhouse kick, your hips twist to move the foot faster. When you hop-to kick, the rear root lands on the ground at the moment that the front foor hits the target to transfer energy through the body; the more stable you are the more energy goes through the weapon into the target rather than back through you, etc..etc...