aikido questions

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
as some of you may know im a drummer and i have tendenitis in both wrists.i have really liked aikido for years and have wanted to study it but have been afraid to do so because of fear that i will mess up my wrists to where it will effect my drummer career.do you think that this is something that i should worry about? if i mes up my wrists then my drumming is out the window and that can't happen because that is what i do for a living.
also,im looking at doing aikido that is really made for street self defense and that is about the self defense aspect and not the spirituality side of this.what is a good style of aikido for this?
and is there a style of aikido that has ground fighting in it that is good for self defense? i know that in the styles of aikido that i have seen they say that if you get taken to the ground you should do whatever you have to do to get back on your feet.i know that this is the best thing for fighting on the street anyway,but i do want to have the ability to defend myself on the ground when im there.
so what do you all think?

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'll give it a shot. I don't really know alot about tendinitis, but I can tell you that if you can learn the wrist stretches, you'll know right away if aikido will bother you, because the stretches that are done at the beginning of each class move the wrists in the same direction as the throws and locks will. If you can't find someone to teach you the stretches, PM me and I'll do what I can in writing.

As far as a style of aikido that is for self defense there are two styles that come to mind right of the bat, Nihon Goshin and Yoshinkan (sp?), but you can also find some instructors of other styles that are probably teaching a "harder" style than you usually see in the traditional Aikido dojo's. You might also look at Aikijutsu. Good Luck.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score