Advice on being a new student with old training?

Fringe

White Belt
Reaction score
I couldn't think of a good title so let me explain my situation. I was a student in Tae Kwon Do (2nd Geup) and Tang Soo Do (4th Geup) during my teens and early twenties. I stopped training when I went to college and could no longer afford it.

Now, over weight and in my mid 30's, I have started training again. I am both surprised at how much I remember and can still do while I am also disappointed at how much I don't remember and cannot do.

I have been training now for about a month and a half, two to three times a week. I know this is bad but I'm bored out of my mind. All of my favorite things to do are done at a much higher rank. All I do each class is perform basics (8 basic techniques) and my first form. To keep myself motivated, I practice the move advanced techniques at home but without supervision I am going by memory of how to perform these techniques and could be doing them incorrectly.

Does anyone have any advice? There are minimum time limits for each Geup so it will be a long while until I can get back to doing the things that I love.

Thanks for any help.
Fringe.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hmm... I've had students come back as you have, and they have either come back at somewhere between white belt and their previously earned rank, and/or the time limits have been modified so that they can retest back to their previous rank (at which point the time limits return to those followed by everyone) if they wanted to do it - I had one student who had been out 17 years and chose to restart at white belt and follow the progression up (he earned his black belt 4 years later). Have you discussed your concerns with your instructor? If s/he's not accommodating your previous learning, you may want to look for an instructor who will, or take up a second art to keep your mind occupied while you regain your rank with your current instructor.

Bodhisattva