A what if question

Hapkid0ist

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
What if Hapkido were to become a popular art? Let’s say that someone was to make Hapkido a highly recognized art AND people were drawn to it and began to make it a well known and popular art. What would most of you think? What would you prefer? Would you rather that HKD be a lesser known art with fewer followers or a more popular art that flourishes with students? What would you prefer?

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I am not a hapkidoist, but personally I always prefer to be doing something that most others are not doing. When I started training in Capoeira, most people, including other martial artists, still had no idea what that was. Now, you see all kinds of capoeira moves popping up in XMA and other showboat arts. I think it kind of sucks, and I wish Capoeira had flown under the radar and remained unnoticed.

Moogong

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I love hapkido and am happy when more people discover how wonderful an art is is. That being said, its growing popularity has brought a lot of negative energy into the art. This is pretty much the case with every art though so I just say Hapkido is in good company.
The biggest drawback to keeping an art exclusive is that you are limiting the number of really talented people that you could possibly be training with.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Since I train an art that got way to popular, Tai Chi, be happy that it doesn't become extremely popular.

I do not train Hapkido I did train Jujitsu and I have watched a few Hapkido classes and I am always rather impressed by the level of martial skill and intent demonstrated.

For Hapkido to be come extremely popular it would have to lower its standards and I would not want to see that.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Ya know those Mazda commercials, "Zoom Zoom Zoom"? That comes from a capoeira song.

pisses me off...

Paul B

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score