A notion on testing martial arts techniques

BostonRedBaron

White Belt
Reaction score
So while on vacation with some friends, I got into a discussion about what it means to test oneself with regards to martial arts skill/technique. As a professional test engineer, I tried to explain some basic test engineering methodology that I go about testing software/hardware on the job and how to relate that to martial arts.

So while I don't write/blog/post too much on martial arts as I spend most of my day writing test cases, results etc, I actually kinda like what I wrote/discussed and would like some feedback on it. Also, I do need some better examples as I'm a little light on a couple of them.

I'm hoping this prompts some intelligent discussions so I thought I'd throw it up here and see what people think. I hope someone finds this useful.

http://www.theredbaron.net/RedBaron/Reds_Blog/Entries/2011/9/17_Reproducibility_In_Martial_Arts.html

FYI, I put it up on my blog as its too long to post here on the forum. I hope this doesn't violate some forum rules about posting links.

OP
B

BostonRedBaron

White Belt
Reaction score
I know lots of people don't favor forms training too much, but I personally like the way it gives me a CLF aftertaste...

Trains at BTT. I know some guys that train down there. A quality gym.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Trains at BTT. I know some guys that train down there. A quality gym.

I think. I'm not 100% where he spends his training time, but I'm most familiar hearing about his KICK program.

But he can give you first hand experience in pressure testing MAs from a variety of stand points & situations.

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score