Working my way back - so that is what I was missing

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
And once again thanks to Brain VanCise and his Blog The Instinctive Edge
this is not the first time one of his posts has helped me figure out training issues.

The only reason for this post is to possibly help someone else that may find themselves in a similar situation and not take over 10 years to figure it out

It seems that I have been working my way back for almost 15 years.

Get injured, recover work my way back get injured again work my way back repeat.

However after the last two injuries that took me out, the whole tree thing and then the foot followed by knee I have not felt like I have ever really got back.

Before the tree fell on me I was training Taijiquan (Yang and Chen), Xingyiquan, Baguazhang and a bit of Wing Chun as well as working on aerobics with a dash of weight lifting and Qigong, heck I was even part of a cross style sparing group and really loving it and it really felt great. Admittedly I was single with no children, working second shift with nothing else to do all day but train. I eventually focused on Yang Taijiquan due to my Yang Taiji sifu asking me to…. And then the tree fell on me.

When I returned to training I was training only Yang Taijiquan but I just could not get my training to feel like it did before. I tried going back to other styles and I tried to say it was age and additional responsibility (got married and had kids). Basically I was old and had no time. I then got to train some Sanda and that old feeling started to return but I did not understand why. Then I messed up my foot followed by tearing the meniscus of the other leg.