Why did you start wing chun

wingchunner

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I got lucky and found a local wing chun school. I had been training in a Kenpo Karate and other Chinese Martial Arts for a while and trying to find what would be most useful and effective. After a while, my WC teacher told me that if I wanted to really get wing chun I would have to give up all of the other stuff I was doing. I didn't see the truth of what he said until several months later. Even then, I didn't give the other stuff up until about a year later. Once I did though, my Wing Chun skill really took off.
I've been doing Wing Chun for over 11 years now.

Marty

OP
S

someguy

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I personally just got lucjy and wandered upon it to start with.
This topic went no where real fast.
Sigh oh well guess there aren't enough wing chun peoples here to sneeze at.

brothershaw

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I started wing chun because i wanted to learn an art that had simultaneous defense and offense(2 hands doing different things at once,) and used the wooden man ( from watching kung fu movies it seemed like a good tool to build coordination and hand speed)). I had previously tried karate but couldnt stick with it. I didnt know it took awhile to get to the wooden man.
After joining the school I liked the teacher and the way the school was run,(saw i was being taught more than i was getting from karate).

W

Winter

I knew that it was started by a woman and figured it would look nice and be effective. :rolleyes: Well one out of two ain't bad! Everyone says that it's so ugly to watch. LOL I dunno. I started it and liked it and that was that.

brothershaw

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Winter said:
I knew that it was started by a woman and figured it would look nice and be effective. :rolleyes: Well one out of two ain't bad! Everyone says that it's so ugly to watch. LOL I dunno. I started it and liked it and that was that.