What should I do? Please help.

Superfly15

White Belt
Reaction score
I’m a 15 year old, yellow/white belt, I’ve been training for almost 3 years. I want to be as humble as possible when I say this, but I would say I’m pretty good. I’ve been told by many higher belts that I’m really good and I’ve been improving everyday. I’m one of my coaches favorite’s, and I genuinely believe that I can have a career in mma, considering I’m also excelling in the kickboxing class. But when it comes to the bjj classes, almost everyone is so much bigger than me. Because of how much bigger they are than me, I cannot roll with them. I try my best, but it’s so bad to the point where I cannot move. There have been multiple times where im stuck in side control or mount, and I physically cannot move at all. I would be okay with losing, submit me all you want, escape all my attempts I don’t care, but at least let me try. Because of this, I’ve found my self falling out of love with my sport. I have big dreams, but little motivation to work to them because I don’t have the same love like I used too. What should I do?

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
If your goal is to compete in MMA, weight classes will be important. Because of that, I'd recommend trying to focus on people that are close to your weight class to train with.

Obviously that's not always possible. But when it is, try for that.

I'd also recommend reading through this thread, where people provided advice for a similar thing. I'm sure there's more to say, but you'll probably find some good stuff there.

What should be my goal with bigger, stronger rolling partners that are at my skill level?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
In what situations are you "pretty good", and what is the size and skill level of those who can stonewall you?