What can I expect from my first bjj class if....

Maint

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm old, fat, out of shape, and not flexible at all? Lol. I've spoken with the owner online, who assured me that I can hang. He said the warm up might be a little rough but just do the best I can and he doesn't expect me to roll with the more experienced. They also offer Muay Thai and mma all included in the monthly cost but I'm not quite cardio ready for that. Lol

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
A lot depends on the school and the instructor. Some schools have an organized curriculum and separate classes for beginners. At other schools you'll just learn whatever the instructor feels like showing that day, which may or may not be useful for the total beginner.

In general a typical class will go something like this:
  • warm up - this may be some gentle movement to get the blood flowing or it may be a series of intense calisthenics, depending on the instructor
  • techniques - the instructor will demonstrate 2-3 techniques, then go around the room to check form and answer questions as you drill the movements with a partner
  • rolling - you'll do a number of rounds of free grappling with different partners. This can have different forms - sometimes you might start standing and work for a takedown, sometimes you might start mounted and work to escape, sometimes you might have to defend against punches - but the most common form is grappling only, starting from the knees.*
*(Personally I think that grappling from the knees is not the best training method and I don't use it very often in the classes I teach. However it is the most common type of rolling you see in BJJ classes.)