Watched my first Modern Arnis class today

WindsorMAGuy28

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I gotta say, I was impressed :) It looks like fun LOL!! It was interesting to see how easily a person can be taken down, or locked up. I'm also going to start taking jujitsu at the school as well(not the BJJ)/ My base art is Kenpo and I think Modern Arnis and jujitsu would be a good combo. I've been out of the martial arts for a number of years and would like to get back into something. I've always had an interest in FMA, and can't believe there modern arnis in my area! Can't wait for my first class :)

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I don't know Mr. Markovich , but I know Jaye Spiro. She brings a lot of experience with her!

Darkmoon

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been training with Jay Spiro twice a week for about four years now, and I haven't heard of Robert Markovich. I would love to hear about your training as it progresses, and what sinawallis you learn. Keep your thread going and Welcome!

Tarot

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Hooray! :partyon:

You've picked a great art to be studying. Do you have your first set of sticks yet? :D

OP
W

WindsorMAGuy28

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hooray! :partyon:

You've picked a great art to be studying. Do you have your first set of sticks yet? :D

What should I look for in purchasing my first set of sticks as far as length? I only know to look for rattan thats it. BTW do these sticks warp or how long should they last?

Tarot

Purple Belt
Reaction score
The length of the stick is from your armpit to about the middle of your palm. You may have to cut sticks in order to get the right length and that's simple. Basic saw to cut them down. :) Some people go by other rules of measurements. This is what I was taught. For me, I actually like adding an extra inch to the length. From my armpit to the middle of my hand is 23 inches. However I prefer my sticks to be 24 inches. It just feels better.