Utah Supreme Court ruled the law allows guns on U of U campus

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think this is a terrific thing! When I used to be an instructor at Utah Valley State College, they allowed us to carry guns as long as we had a concealed carry permit. It is about time for U of U.

http://www.sltrib.com/ci_4307062

- Ceicei

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Apparently some people think crimes don't happen on campuses.

Jeff

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Apparently some people think crimes don't happen on campuses.

Jeff

Well in many states the Campuses report crimes separately from the city. And some even skew the reports so if a student who is a resident on campus is part of a crime off campus it is included with the campus stats. This way the "City" seems safer and the marketing is good for both the city and the college/university.

So it is nice that one state has done this. Maybe more will follow.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When my wife was doing research work at Purdue, the official policy was no firearms on campus except for the campus police.

However, I was told by several officers from that department, one of whom owned the shop where I did a lot of my firearms purchases at that time said to ignore it. If you had a permit and were doing no wrong, they would let you. This was at a time when there were many rapes occurring on campus.

Jeff

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Finally, a little reason. Banning guns on college campuses assumes the criminals will just leave theirs at home...

Yeah right.

KenpoTex

Senior Master
Reaction score
Good for them! College campuses can be bad places, especially because most of them do not allow weapons of any type.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Of course, this should be allowed, but it should also be rare.