Throws

mhouse

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Good Afternoon,

My name is Mark, I'm new to this forum (in fact this is my first posting on any of the MartialTalk forums).

I've been studying Shaolin Kempo Chi Sao for 6 years in Massachusetts.

I have a couple of questions about throws and throwing techniques. (i.e. Hip throws and shoulder throws.)

1. From a practice perspective, do you have a set series of techniques that integrate a throw. If so, would you mind sharing it?

2. From a teaching perspective, when do you start teaching throws to your students? How do you go about teaching them to safely 'be thrown'? How do you train them on throwing another student?

Thank you,
Mark

M

MisterMike

Hey, welcome aboard.

I have not seen much in the way of hip and shoulder throws in Parker Kenpo, but from my Judo days, you basically learn hip throws first, then shoulder. The first being easier to ukemi from. I'd say a good understanding of breakfalls would be necessary before being thrown.

Parker Kenpo deals more with Takedowns, which do not necessitate a throw.

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
Ayup. Include ukemi-waza drills in each warm-up, paricularly the ones that enable you to slap out or roll out from the throws that will be practiced on that particular day.

R

Rainman

MisterMike said:
Hey, welcome aboard.

I have not seen much in the way of hip and shoulder throws in Parker Kenpo, but from my Judo days, you basically learn hip throws first, then shoulder. The first being easier to ukemi from. I'd say a good understanding of breakfalls would be necessary before being thrown.

Parker Kenpo deals more with Takedowns, which do not necessitate a throw.