Styles and their structures

Bill_Hunsicker

White Belt
Reaction score
Greatings all,

I am a student of Sifu Gary Swan studying at the Universal City, TX school. I am also a computer programmer. I am working on my 3rd Black belt and am developing a computer based training assist tool. I would like to design the software to be able to hold information from multipule styles and wanted to get a better idea of the structure used in systems other than the Kenpo I study.

Currently I have this structure to hold the information I will be storing:

System - A place to hold the name and history for each system the program will service. Initially, the NCKKA will be my base system (as that is what I study), but I will also be working to get IKKA and other systems into the program.

Belts - The rank structure for the system/style.

Techs - The techniques for each belt in the style chosen.

My question to everyone here is this: will this structure hold most/all of the styles represented here. For example, once I get the data input for my base system, if I were to approach an instructor from Kosho Ryu, would they be able to fit their styles information into this structure.

The idea here is that once the program is completed, adding information about a new system would entail documenting the system, belt structure, techniques , video taping each technique and then releasing the information.

Thanks for your advice and time.

Oss

Bill Hunsicker

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
It will work pretty well for kenpo (unsurprisingly) but it may not work well at all for other systems. As an example I will use Pekiti Tirsia Kali as I am the most familiar with that.

Belts - The rank structure for the system/style.