Stupid Database Questions

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I used to be a Network Administrator and Database programmer - but not since the First Bush was in office and the Soviet Union, while breaking up, was still a going concern (at least on paper). I'm curious, is Paradox still used? How about DBase? Clipper? Clarion PD (the easy, but clunky choice that I never used but others found useful)? What's the new programmable and executable (.exe's) database program being used today? Just curious and a bit nostalgic. I remember FoxPro being the bomb...

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Jonathan Randall said:
I used to be a Network Administrator and Database programmer - but not since the First Bush was in office and the Soviet Union, while breaking up, was still a going concern (at least on paper). I'm curious, is Paradox still used? How about DBase? Clipper? Clarion PD (the easy, but clunky choice that I never used but others found useful)? What's the new programmable and executable (.exe's) database program being used today? Just curious and a bit nostalgic. I remember FoxPro being the bomb...
i've been working with databases for like 2 years and I have NEVER heard of any of whatever you listed. we use SQL SERVER 2000, Oracle, mySql, Sybase, MS Access. we ususally write database scripts which include all the commands, queries, the tables, constraints, relationships, foreign and primary keys and so on. I do have a great MS SQL Server 2000 tutorial that I can email you maybe just PM me your email address if you want to take a look at it.

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
I think Paradox preceeded Access. Access was actually written by another company and bought by MS.

But, no, unless you are in a small shop of homegrown software that's been around for a long time, nobody uses Clipper, Paradox, FoxPro, etc....anymore

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
FearlessFreep said: