Smoking - Breaking the Habbit

S

switch

I have been smoking for a good 12 years, fully addicted for about 10 years. In the past I have attempted to quit and once did so for about 6 months. In those 6 months I felt free and enjoyed most of all the smell of flowers as I was jogging past the various houses in my neighbourhood. Being able to taste my food as it was meant to taste also felt great. I never did care about the money I saved as I would have spent it on something else anyway.

I'm at that stage of my life again where I want to quit and quit for good. With each smoke the point of it all seems so destructive and my body is telling me in big clear signals to stop. My weight has once again fallen below my average for my height and my appetite is not what it should be. Each meal all I think about is how good that cigarette is going to taste. All the smokers know what I mean.

Ten minutes ago I just had a shower. After each shower I have a cigarette. It's one of those things we smokers do after or before an event or at a particular time of the day. Some light up as soon as they start up their car. Some as soon as they exit a train. Some before getting to work in the morning and at lunch. We all do it, it's a habbit and most of us do it at a subconcious level.

Ten minutes ago I had a shower but I didn't have a cigarette. Instead, I came down to my study room and I wrote this. I'm hoping it's the start of breaking my habbit and this time for good. I know that I'm going to have more cigarettes. Hell, I'm probably going to buy a few more packets before I actually quit. The point is, I didn't have a cigarette after my shower. Next time, I won't light up after a meal. The time after that I won't reach for the pack when I get in my car. Finally, one day I will go out with my friends and I'll get drunk, the ultimate test, while only inhaling second hand smoke from the people around the bar.

OP
M

Melissa426