Similarities and differences between Largo Mano and Jojutsu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
When I did arnis, we practiced something called largo mano. This set of techniques used a single large stick and I often wondered...how similar is this to jojutsu, of which I have no experience. So, what are the similarities and differences between largo mano and jojutsu?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

lhommedieu

Black Belt
Reaction score
I agree that the jo is used more like a Japanese sword than not - atlthough it is longer than most katana and can be gripped differently due to the absence of an edge. There's probably a lot of instructional books, video, and DVD out there as it is a popular weapon - if one wanted to take a look at jo technique.

With respect to largo mano, however, I don't think the comparison with the jo is apt: largo mano generally refers to technique with a somewhat longer sword or stick than usual that is used one-handed at a longer distance. It is also true that several styles adapt to different ranges with the same weapon; they refer to the long-range techniques in their systems as "largo mano."

It is interesting to note that several FMA's contain techniques that appear to be specific counters to two-handed swords. This is not surprising given the myriad encounters with different cultures that used two-handed swords across the millenia; the Japanese invasion in 1941 was simply the last in a long line of similar encounters (although it was different in scale and impact). There is a famous story of a young eskrimador who was brought to the house of a Japanese officer during the war (his village was occupied by the army) and told to defend himself against the officer's sword attack. The eskrimador blew out the officer's occular orbit with his stick on his first counter and escaped in the confusion to join the resistance.