Satori or Something Like it (Thoughts on Sparring)

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was recently a competitor in my third-ever karate tournament. As a late-comer to karate, and a man getting older in general, I have some thoughts on the subject that might be a different perspective from either the veteran competitor or the newcomer who is young. I am no expert - hardly even a beginner. I can offer no wisdom, just a different perspective. Forgive my verbosity; this was something I needed to write down.

I went to my first competition not due to any burning desire to participate in point-sparring. I had been to a couple competitions as an observer and photographer, and it didn't interest me that much. I could see that it wasn't really 'karate' and it wasn't really 'self-defense' either. It appeared to have elements of both in it, but in reality, since the sparring stops when a light touch is made (if the judges see it!), follow-up techniques can be less important; strategy for a longer fight isn't as important, etc. It's a game. An interesting game, and one that requires some amount of courage, along with some skill, some speed, some endurance, and even some showmanship, but a game nonetheless.

However, we had been asked to consider competing in a tournament at the end of July of this year that was to honor one of my sensei's instructors, and since I thought I should try to honor that request, I also thought I should give some thought to learning how to do this. I also developed the notion that since this competition in late July will be held just after my 50th birthday, and there is a men's advanced underbelt 50+ division, it would be an interesting birthday present to myself.

So I signed up for a local open tournament and competed.