Nihon Goshinjutsu Aikido

B

Bushido151

Anyone interested in blending Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu with Aikido (Nihon Goshin Aikido), check out this web site Aikidobuff.com

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm a student of NGA. I study in the Roanoke, Virginia dojo with Sensei McCraw. Thus far I'm loving the training. I checked out the website and found it to be interesting. What aspects of NGA did you keep when you created the new system? What did you discard? I assume since the effort was put into blending the two styles that they blend well together. Just curious about the mention of Soke Phelps on the site. Why did he choose to take the title of soke if what has been done is simply blending two existing styles? Why keep the Nihon in the name if the training is of american origin? Lots of questions here that I'll toss about when I actually get my brain working (3 or 4 more cups of coffee should do it). I've done some ground fighting while studying kenpo a while back and can see where some of the locks of aikido would work well on the ground. Keep us posted on how the transition goes.

OP
B

Bushido151

theletch1 said:
What aspects of NGA did you keep when you created the new system? What did you discard?
Sensei Phelps Kept all aspects of NGA nothing has changed in our Aikido practice, all he did was add Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Aikido on your feet, Jiu-Jitsu on the ground. We still have to learn the 50 classical techs of Nga and test on them the same as you do. Now in our defense lines if you fall instead of letting you get up we go on the ground.

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score