Muay Thai or Kickboxing?

manchu

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi, I have been training Muay Thai for the past 4 months. I started sparring lightly last week. The gym I go to only offers three ninety minute class per week. I want to practice more regularly. I live in a small island, and the other gym that offers Muay Thai is 80 minutes away one class per week. I am debating if I should add that or just add kickboxing classes two nights a week in my schedule. I do like Muay Thai, and I understand that kickboxing is different. I much prefer to practice Muay Thai, but then I want to be open minded. I also don't want to get confused with different rules and movements...Please give me some feedback. Thank you.

-steve-

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hello manchu. The muay thai gym i go to is really cool because some days it will teach muay thai, some days we will spend all day doing boxing, and some days we do low kick kickboxing (K-1 rules). The coaches are really good and know what they are doing, there are trophies medals and plaques all over the gym to prove this. Any way i think u should try the kick boxing, it can't hurt. Just dont ever try to use an axe kick or double tap kick in a muay thai fight. You may want to see if there are any boxing gyms around. I really enjoy the days we focus on boxing but just like kicboxing there are trhings u must avoid doing when doing muay thai, like the stance and the way boxers bob and weave. Sure try out kickboxing, its another way to practice punches, learn some new kicks and if nothing else get u alot more fit then doing muay thai alone.

Tensei85

Master Black Belt
Reaction score