Mantis: 12 Keywords of Attack & Defense

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
We have a thread on the 12/8 principles of the mantis system, but aside from that there is also this keyword list. I would be interested in seeing the list of keywords used by other mantis system or other 7* schools in general. The list we follow is:

1.) Ou - Hooking
2.) Lou - Grabbing
3.) Tsai Choi - Plucking and Striking
4.) Kwa - Hanging block and strike
5.) Diu - Hook (Interception)
6.) Jun - Forward moving or advance
7.) Bung - Crushing Downwards
8.) Da - Hitting or Dodging and Bouncing
9.) Jim - Contact (To make contact)
10.) Lim - Clinging or sticking
11.) Tib - Tag or tagging
12.) Kao - Leaning

7sm

Ginsu

Orange Belt
Reaction score
7-Star,
It has been a long time since I used or even discussed my Praying Mantis background. However I studied 8-step Mantis Kung Fu and remember very clearly the 8 different stances. However I will have to go dig through my notes to look at what is the same or may be different in your list. I know that several are the same. I will go dig up my material and let you know what I find.

Ginsu

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
7starmantis said:
We have a thread on the 12/8 principles of the mantis system, but aside from that there is also this keyword list. I would be interested in seeing the list of keywords used by other mantis system or other 7* schools in general. The list we follow is:

1.) Ou - Hooking
2.) Lou - Grabbing
3.) Tsai Choi - Plucking and Striking
4.) Kwa - Hanging block and strike
5.) Diu - Hook (Interception)
6.) Jun - Forward moving or advance
7.) Bung - Crushing Downwards
8.) Da - Hitting or Dodging and Bouncing
9.) Jim - Contact (To make contact)
10.) Lim - Clinging or sticking
11.) Tib - Tag or tagging
12.) Kao - Leaning

7sm