Kiba dachi

L

Lucy Rhombus

I've been studying karate for two years, and I still have trouble doing a proper kiba dachi. My left foot is fine -- it can point straight forward -- but my right foot can't go in that far. I can try to force it straight, but the pressure from -- well, I don't know whether it's from a bone or a tendon or whatever, but it feels like it's from the outside of my ankle -- forces the foot back out. I fractured that ankle when I was younger and by the time I got it looked at it was too late to set, so that may be part of the problem.

This especially stinks when I'm doing kata like the naihanchis, where you have to land in a good kiba dachi. My feet are always splayed out, no matter how hard I try to keep them pointing forward.

So my questions is -- are there any special stretches or exercises I can do to force that right foot inward? Or am I doomed to a sub-par kiba dachi?

And does anyone else have this problem?

D.Cobb

2nd Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Originally posted by Lucy Rhombus
I've been studying karate for two years, and I still have trouble doing a proper kiba dachi. My left foot is fine -- it can point straight forward -- but my right foot can't go in that far. I can try to force it straight, but the pressure from -- well, I don't know whether it's from a bone or a tendon or whatever, but it feels like it's from the outside of my ankle -- forces the foot back out. I fractured that ankle when I was younger and by the time I got it looked at it was too late to set, so that may be part of the problem.

This especially stinks when I'm doing kata like the naihanchis, where you have to land in a good kiba dachi. My feet are always splayed out, no matter how hard I try to keep them pointing forward.

So my questions is -- are there any special stretches or exercises I can do to force that right foot inward? Or am I doomed to a sub-par kiba dachi?

And does anyone else have this problem?