Kata history

Cirdan

Senior Master
Reaction score
As a wado practicioner I am still learning to do the Pinan kata. However I have taken an interest in their orign and history of the more complex ones tough I am not doing them yet.
I had hoped the people here could shed some light on the following kata for me: Tensho, Sanchin, Ji`in.

Who created them? What does the name mean? What is the main characteristics of the kata? What schools besides wado practice them today?

Thank you

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Cirdan said:
for me: Tensho, Sanchin, Ji`in.

Who created them? What does the name mean? What is the main characteristics of the kata? What schools besides wado practice them today?

Thank you

This was taken from the "Pinnacle of Karate" by Robert A. Trias. There are probably going to be some folks who will want to argue about this explanation, and I welcome civil discussions on it, since I would certainly like to hear other people's thoughts on these meanings.

The origin of kata San-chin can be traced to the ancient Chinese, and possibly to Bodhidharma.

San-chin has many meanings to it, but the most common one seems to refer to the three conflicts (Birth, Life, Death). There are many other meanings, but all of them revolve around the number three.

Three Minds
Three Forces
Three Jewels
Three Breath Levels
Three Natures
Three Senses
Three Kiais
Three Methods
Three Ways
Three Forms

These explanations can also be carried over to the other kata in the series (San-mitsu, San-sei).

Ten-sho is a bit more vague. The meaning is often described as "motion of hands," but since "ten" refers to the sky / heavens, that has also been integrated into the meaning. This also applies to the other kata in the series (Ten-dai, Ten-Chi).

BlackCatBonz

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Tensho - 転掌 literally means "rotating palms". the first kanji is different than the one for "heaven".
ive also heard it called "changing hands".