JKD as first art?

S

spook mma

how many of you guys started martial arts by studying jkd first? as in, was this the first art that you took up and have just stayed with it throughout the years? or did you guys start off on some other unrelated art and just found your way to JKD as time progressed?

OP
M

Mormegil

I don't know about unrelated, but I started out in Kali with a smattering of JKD in the curriculum. At this point I do Jun Fan JKD and JKDC (with a smattering of Kali).

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Not me--I studied many other arts first and still consider JKD an adjunct to my Modern Arnis rather than a first art.

OP
L

lost_tortoise

I hesitate to write this as I know that it is not a popular opinion in my combat circles, but I would study a core art first. I don't think it matters which art, although Wing Chun or an FMA style might be your best bet, but definitely get about 4 or 5 years under your belt before "liberating" yourself. Why do I say this? Well, I have seen many come to Jun Fan/JKD and/or JKDC as their first art and not stuck with it. Many schools teach classes with a less structured approach that is not conducive to a beginner's mindset. Also, having a background in combat applications, terminology and biomechanics will dramatically increase your development rate in JKD. You have to have rigidity in a system before you can truly appreciate the liberation of JKD.

geoffrey

OP
S

spook mma

Originally posted by lost_tortoise