I need help with gear!

Alex

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Maybe I should have searched a little more but I would like some current opinions on what gear to buy (I'm a beginner so a good medium between price and performance would be best!).

Main pieces of interest :

Gloves

Wraps (wrist and ankle (do you guys recommend ankle wraps?)

Thai Pads

Any other misc equipment

Hannya

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Make sure the wraps are strecthy 180's, and don't go cheap on the gloves. Good gloves (I went with fairtex) will last you a long time, cheap ones go fast. I personally like the ankle wraps, plus its always good to be in full uniform.

Not sure if your school makes you buy your own thai pads, or if you mean shin guards. IMO you don't need the guards, you will be kicking bags nonstop the first couple months and that should condition them for you. Keep it to minimal in the beginning and add on what you think is needed. Good luck.

JB*

White Belt
Reaction score
Im currently using TWINS bag mits and gloves. They seem to be lasting me a lot longer than most, plus if you quite fancy yourself they do lots of wierd designs and stuff, not to my taste tho. I don't bother with ankle wraps, all they seem to do for me is take the slap out of kicks to a bag. Don't buy shin gaurds, it'll slow your shin conditioning down, your instructor will tell you whe you need to wer them and in 95% of cases provide them. I have my 2 pairs f gloves, a pair of wraps and my shorts. Thats all need :)

OP
Alex

Alex

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
just to clarify, by thai pads i mean the rectangle pads someone strap to their arms and you practice hitting (my girlfriend and I work out together alot and she will help me practice on days when there is no class).

And on the gloves, I noticed that Twins seems to only offer velcro or elastic, haven't checked on fairtex yet. Which do you prefer