How to raise up your leg in side-kick.

alphacat

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hey,

I started practicing on Muay Thai side-kick (aka Muay Thai diagonal kick).
I think that I do everything right, apart from the point where you thrust the front leg real quick high up.
I dont have enough power to raise the leg that high and bringing it to a position where its straight (even though the leg should be kept straight just for the moment of impact).

What is the correct way to gain more power and flexibility in the leg in order to perform this kick well?

Thank you.

PS
Thanks for raising up my confidence in the other thread.

Akira

Green Belt
Reaction score
Not sure which kick you're talking about but squats with weights will give you that explosive power.

For flexability just stretch twice a day and push it further then you normally would (ie stretching to just warm up). It'll take a while but it'll improve eventually.

OP
A

alphacat

Green Belt
Reaction score
Thank you very much for helping out :)
I'll work out on these legs.

I wanted please to ask another question.

I'm talking about Thai kick.
I'm right handed, and when throwing a Thai kick with my left leg, I was taught in the gym to keep the same fight stance when i execute it – meaning the left leg in the front, and right leg in the back.

I feel that I perform that kick with much more power when I perform it as if I was left handed – meaning just before the kick, I change my fight stance to one belongs to a left handed and then perform the kick.
I saw that technique on Youtube.

What is your opinion?

Akira

Green Belt
Reaction score
So talking about if you're regular stance, with your left leg at the front normally.

You don't change stance if you are kicking the inside of your opponents left leg (inside leg kick). This is just a quick stinging kick.