Hi I'm new here (also got a question)

S

squirepens

Hi, I'm new to the forums here. Aside from a few *** beatings on the playground as a child, I have NO experience or training, and am just kind of interested in martial arts. I've got a few questions though.

1. What is a good style to learn for someone who's rather large and not in particularly in prime physical condition. I do lift weights and mostly consist of muscle, but I'm not really very athletic and aerobic activity is NOT my strong point. (I'm 6 ft 3 inches and 290 pounds.)

2. How important is physical condition as opposed to proper technique.

3. And thirdly, since I'm posting in the "knife" forums...which do you prefer? Switchblade or balisong? This one's just a curious question. I'm not legally old enough to carry a gun, so I do at least carry a knife around on me. I've got one of each, both cheapos, and I like the weight and feel of the swithchblade, but the balisong's definately less likely to cut of my fingers when I reach into my pocket for the car keys.

Just some questions and my introduction here. I hope to get better acquainted with you folks so feel free to drop me an email.

Squirepens

Michael Billings

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to MartialTalk! Look forward to your posting.

Interesting question re: switchblade v. balisong. The balisongs I have seen, both real cheap and real expensive, are a little stronger than the switchblades I have played with. My real preference is for a locking folder. Kershaw makes a nice "assisted" opening folder that is pretty reasonable.

Everyone has opinions re: what art to study. Best advice, go check out the schools in your area, do it more than once, at different times. Look at instructors actually teaching and most schools let you visit afterwards, with the students or the instructor. Find a nice "fit" where you are comfortable and can learn something. You can always branch out later.

-Michael
-MT Moderator-

KenpoTex

Senior Master