Greetings. Question about MA in Ann Arbor, Michigan

Lacrymosa

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I am currently a student at the University of Michigan, and am interested in committing to a martial art for at least the duration of my undergraduate career (most likely longer). I have a little experience in Tae Kwon Do (during elementary school - blue belt), but I am looking for something new...it didn't suit my personality. At the moment I am looking into Ninjutsu, Wing Chun and Jeet Kun Do. So far, I have found these classes near my dorm:

http://www-personal.umich.edu/~mza/ninpo.html

http://michigankungfu.com/index.html

I have not been able to locate a Jeet Kun Do class near me yet. Does anyone know of any? Does anyone also know of the quality of the aforementioned Ninjutsu/kung fu classes?

Thanks.

Edit: I suppose I should add that like many others, I am a big fan of Bruce Lee and his philosophy. I would prefer something fluid (and fast, though I'm sure most arts incorporate speed) rather than something rigid, though I have the feeling that I should gain experience in other arts before moving to Jeet Kun Do (for a stronger base).

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I hear Mr. Asuncion is a highly qualified Bujinkan (ninjutsu) instructor. If I were in the area, I would check him out above the other program if that is what you are interested in. It is rare to have someone with the highest ranking/credentials you can get in a system right in your area.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score