Grand Master & Religious Beliefs

C

Cydone

I have a concern that I want to share with you. 10 years ago I started practicing Hapkido, which branch for its own integrity, I wont disclose here, and it is also besides the point. A Few years later I stopped, I had to go away for a year, back home and in the following years, I tried different forms, but never again found what I was realy looking for. Back then when I was 16 years old, the depth and philosophy of the form intrigued me, and has given me value, and changed me somewhat into what I am today.

I have been thinking countless times about starting again, but never came around to it, until last month. I started in a shcool with the exact same form, under the same Grand Master, in my new city.

It is and has been great getting back and moving around, dancing with the soul.. But this very weekend, I once again, as I had 10 years ago, had the fortununity of training with the Grand Master at a weekend training session. As most of us know, training with your Grand Master comes next to nothing, it is indeed unique, regardless of what it is you practice.

But there, 10 years after, hearing him talk, listening to him expressing himself about the depth of this form, he did ofcasue have the same philophical aproach, however, and here it come my friends, my problem; he started including God in between his tellings. I dont want this to turn into a religious discussion. Of cause, many things we learn from the deeper/softer martial arts, do include similar moral concerns as many religions, but still. One does not have to be religious, to believe that it is "good" or at least feels good to treat other people with respect, and be nice, to give more than to take etc. They may be religious dogmas, but I do not have to believe in a god, to refrain from stealing or killing.

My point here is, my Grand Master has become more and perhaps more religious in time, and is now throwing in bits and pieces of his own religious beliefs.