FMAT: Moving, need feedback on these potential instructors

Clark Kent

<B>News Bot</B>
Reaction score
Moving, need feedback on these potential instructors
By jwinch2 - 03-26-2010 09:05 PM
Originally Posted at: FMATalk

====================

So, here is my situation. Over the last few months, I have been interviewing at different universities across the US for faculty positions. I am currently a professor at George Mason University in northern Virginia where outside of work, I study the Inosanto-LaCoste blend and BJJ at Guro Pat Tray's school (Trident Academy of Martial Arts). I love the system, love the school, and the instructors are great. No complaints. Prior to that, I studied Modern Arnis with an instructor under Datu Tim Hartman's organization. I was forced to stop training Modern Arnis when my instructor stopped teaching due to conflicts with his duties as a law enforcement officer. There was another instructor in the area but he drive would have been entirely unrealistic in the Washington DC Metro. Again, loved the system, the instructor was great, and no complaints.

During the last few months that I have been interviewing, I have been exploring training opportunities at each of the potential new locations I would have been going to. To that end, I have posted threads about certain sytems,certain locations, and certain instructors. Basically, I have been making a big fat nuisance of myself. :moon:

Now, I have pretty much settled the deal and know that I will be moving to the Johnson City, TN area and will be working at East Tennessee State University. In terms of prestige of the university it is a bit less but in terms of strength of the academic program I will be associated with and my ability to perform my research, it is a major step up for me and one that I am very excited about.