Doing some research

Reaction score
I'm new to the Filipino arts and am currently researching staff work. What is the most common length of a Filipino staff?

lhommedieu

Black Belt
Reaction score
I think that about 6 feet, or about head level is standard for the staff, but there are a lot of different kinds of staffs in the Philippines and the length will vary. Shorter persons will also use shorter staffs, etc. Staff length will vary according to the use of the staff: a staff used to carry loads across the shoulders, for example, will be a different length than that used primarily as a hiking staff, to help cross streams, etc.

Then there is the issue of whether the staff used by some styles for training is actually an adaptation of spear technique. I'm currently attending Tuhon William McGrath's Pekiti Tirsia Kali summer camp in Fishkill, N.Y., where we spent yesterday learning Sibat (spear) techniques. The training spear that we are using is about 7-8 feet long but that includes the length of what would be the spear head. The weapon that I train spear technique for San Miguel Eskrima, on the other hand, is shorter at 6 feet long, but is also somewhat heavier.

There are also shorter staffs such as the tapado or ananangkil which come up to chest level or shorter; again, the length of these short staffs varies according to the uses to which they are put.

Best,

Steve Lamade

OP
P
Reaction score
I was seeing a lot of 4-5 ft. staves, but I only came across one site showing a 6 ft. Your post is the first time I came across anthing longer than that. That's interesting. I'll have to look into this some more.

lhommedieu

Black Belt
Reaction score