Different Kihon

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I thought I would throw this out now....

I got a PM from someone who seems to have joined here just to send it to me after seeing my rant thread. Here is the part that gives me pause.

however recently (name removed by Don Roley) has opened up in a much closer location (15 minutes rather than 90 minutes) away, and on asking my instructor about training with him, I was told "It's up to you but I'd rather you didn't until you get your black belt, so your basics are grounded, as learning from two different instructors you could get confused" or words to that effect.

It does not sound exactly right to me. Different people do the kihon slightly differently. But if they are doing it correctly then there should be no more problem than me teaching "I am a student" in my English classes and some other teacher having their students repeat "I am a boy". Some things must be covered and not left out, but the whole thing should be just like looking at the same thing from different angles. You do one kihon while in that teacher's class, but I don't think that doing two different teachers version should foul you up.

It sounds to me like maybe someone is trying to keep a student. Especially since I know the new teacher and he has just moved there from staying years in Japan. If there is any differences in the kihon, I would go with the new guy.

What does everyone here think?

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey Don,

Definately it sounds like someone is worried about losing a new student.
Maybe that instructor realizes that the new person will have alot to offer (just being back from Japan) and is concerned that the student will leave or realize that their are other outlets for training. This is not the first time that I have heard this.

Brian R. VanCise
www.instinctiveresponsetraining.com

Kreth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score