Did you loose a fight because?

don bohrer

Brown Belt
Reaction score
How many guys here in whats considered a standup martial art have lost a fight because you were taken to the ground? If you did go to the ground but won why? Ok now the reverse. How many grapplers lost because they couldn't fight standing up? So many people advocate learning grappling. I just want to see if the numbers support it, or if the UFC has tainted public opinion.

don

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
When I worked as a bouncer, of all the confrontations I've had to deal with, only 2 went to the ground.

One against another MAist who took me to the ground with him as I threw him, the other was because we slipped as I was trying to achieve some sort of control tech on someone a lot stronger than me. Fortunantly for me, I knew more ground work than my attackers.

While bouncing, I did see quite a few brawls also. Although it wasn't 90% that went to the ground, more like 70%. But, most were quite drunk or they tripped over chairs or tables. :shrug:

The statistics of 90% go to the ground could be accurate, or not. I would like to see some statistics on how many were blind stinking drunk.

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Grappling was an art that I learned late and lost many fights because they were on the ground. Mainly because my opponent was heavier/bigger than I was (5-10'' 145 lbs). But as I mentioned in another post I made sure they walked away hurting one way or another. I never bothered with the stats on my own personal confrontations but I'm sure that at least 75% of the "ground-fights" I was in I lost. Later as I learned ground fighting techniques I began coming out ahead.
Rarely had I gotten into a fight when I was drunk to any degree...but that's been a while since I've 14 years clean and sober under my belt.