Dancing or fighting?

Ram

Orange Belt
Reaction score
After looking at various martial arts schools around the area I decided to try out an Aikido school near by. Akidio seems to instill patience and good reflexes in its students from what I have seen on T.V. and on-line.
Now only one thing concerns me about my new endevor, a lot of what I have seen has seemed like dancing.
Now I am no novice to martial arts. I got a black belt in Villari's Shaolin Kempo Karate(I know Villari's schools are not that great but it was a start) I also have trained in Greco-Roman Wrestling and a Muay Thai/Ju jitsu mix. Now I love what I watch in the older black and white Aikido videos a martial artist with speed and grace throwing guys around who are comming full force at him. The attackers in these videos do not look like they are trying to flip with the opponent(even though you would probably have to at some point to avoid injury)but are offering resistance and will attack with hard resistance even two at a time. Now what I have seen in most newer Aikido videos I have came across are two people barley working, one fliping gracefuly while the other throws him(pretty much without even touching him) no one is even breaking a sweat.
I am sure this has come up before but I guess I am nervous that after I finally get to a point with the techniques where i am capeable of practicing with resistance and force applied on me everyone will want to dance:partyon: ?

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Ram said:
After looking at various martial arts schools around the area I decided to try out an Aikido school near by. Akidio seems to instill patience and good reflexes in its students from what I have seen on T.V. and on-line.
Now only one thing concerns me about my new endevor, a lot of what I have seen has seemed like dancing.