Cop Attackers and Their Weapons..

Blotan Hunka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
When I was a soldier, we didnt shoot all that much either. Yearly qualifications, a lot of blanks during training and deployment of course, but its not like the average soldier is out burning up a lot of rounds either. I think that this and even the tueller drill is more about intention and initiative and less about tactical/technical skill. Id bet that many of these same cops, if they were going into a situation with their guns out and knowing they were going to shoot would show the same stats in their favor vs. the same bad guy.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I see one really, really, really bad result of this study which is pretty much inevitable. When a cop shoots an innocent person he will, not might, not could, but will skate. He will almost certainly not be indicted. If he is the case will almost never come to trial. And if it does the defense will pull out all the "thin blue line" stops. The chance of him getting convicted of anything is about the same as the tissue paper dog will of chasing the asbestos cat through Hell. His career might suffer a setback. He might lose his job quietly. But he will not see jail time unless it was a hit for the Mob or similar. That's just the way it is.

This study will be used in those few cases where a cop might be in danger of actually receiving justice. Friendly experts will cite it to show why it is important that police shoot first and don't bother to ask questions. Add it to "furtive movement" and "positional asphyxia" and "excited delerium". It won't work for you and me. It will work to make sure that Officer Friendly is never ever at risk of jail time or the needle as long as he wears a badge.