confused about training

2looselatrek

I am relatively new to martial arts and was a bit confused as to which path I should take. I have the option to train at a pekiti tirsia school or a JKD school. From what I gather, both have similar techniques and uses of weapons. I really enjoy knife fighting. What are the major differences between the two?

pesilat

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by 2looselatrek
I am relatively new to martial arts and was a bit confused as to which path I should take. I have the option to train at a pekiti tirsia school or a JKD school. From what I gather, both have similar techniques and uses of weapons. I really enjoy knife fighting. What are the major differences between the two?

I'd say go for the Pekiti Tirsia school.

The reason I say this stems from no bias toward either art. They're both good.

However, most JKD schools that teach weapons have only a surface depth of weapons knowledge (there are exceptions). Pekiti Tirsia is, flat out, a weapon based system. And it's one of the best knife systems I've seen.

From what you've said, the Pekiti Tirsia will suit you better.

However, what I'd recommend is to visit both schools. View (and/or participate) in a class or two. Talk to the instructors. Then go with the instructor/school/class that you like better. That you really enjoy.

My logic in saying this:

It doesn't matter much if the material you're getting is awesome or not. If you don't enjoy the people and the atmosphere, you won't likely stick around anyway.

But, if you check them both out and like both of them, then go with the Pekiti Tirsia because (at least IMO), it'll be more in line with what you say you're looking for.

Mike

OP

2looselatrek

Thanks for the quick reply Mike!
Just one more question, if pekiti tirsia is heavily weapons based, how effective would a practioner be without any weapons?

OP
M

Master of Blades