Arm Position During Spinning Hook Kick Technique - Belfort KO

Gwai Lo Dan

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
What do you guys think of the arm positioning for the spinning hook kick? I've seen hands tucked into the chest during the spin and kick, and I have seen a variation of dropping the rear hand to counterbalance the kicking leg (similar to dropping the front hand in a roundhouse).

I personally found dropping the arm to be more powerful, but I am no expert. So I was interested to see on UFC on FX8 that Belfort used the spinning hook kick with the dropping arm, as shown in this photo.

Do you guys favour one way over the other? Do you use both ways depending on the situation?

belfort-ko.jpg

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
In the photo the rear hand is not in a ready position for offense or defense. Dropping the rear hand does not aid in torso rotation needed for the kick.

TKDTony2179

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I perfer controlling both hands while spinning and having both hands by my head as I finish the kick. But I don't think that dropping your hands make it is powerful when spinning. (front hand as you spin which becomes your rear) Maybe for counter balance or to touch the ground so you can have increase height in your kick like caporeia artist do.

Gnarlie

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Arm motion and positioning relative to the upper body before, during and after the technique play a massive part in generating rotational force around a stable axis. This rotation is transferred through the hip to the kicking leg. If that arm is dangling, the rotation stops too early and the kick does not sweep through the target unless you muscle it through. It also leave you vulnerable during and after the kick to an underkick. So, arms follow to cover the chest and belly areas.

Gnarlie

ETinCYQX

Master Black Belt
Reaction score