Animal Experimentation? Rights?

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
I dont know if this has been a thread before, I apologise if it has.
I'm only 17 but I understand that in Britain in the 60's and 70's there was a huge boom of animal rights activists, started by a woman who went undercover in a lab and bought out pictures of beagles (dogs) smoking. I understand a guy called Peter Singer may have contributed to this with his book on Species-ism. I'm currently studying this for my exams as this guy is apparently a philsopher and I need to know about animal rights in different religions etc etc.

One thing I have noticed that during this boom is the sheer amount of crime commited under the banner of animal rights, were this people really doing it for the animals or did they simply like the idea of doing it because it gave them an excuse and a cause to actually cause trouble. Some of it seems a bit extreme!

I've heard both sides of the arguements, people quoting the bible stating the God gave humans rule over animals but how in fact he told us to care for them. I've heard the other side of the arguements when people have stated about their children being saved for the sake of two dogs.

One thing that annoyed me and I dont know why is that Peter Singer I believe quoted that two dogs equal the lives of one child.

I know that maybe we should not consider ourselves a superior species but surely somewhere that just hits me as not right. Is that my cultural conditioning or what?

Surely if you compared the pain of the children's parents do that of the dogs, the amount of pain is justified by the suffering of the parents compared to thte suffering of the dogs parents who lets face it, probably dont know or care of have a conscious. Now thats not to say that they dont I'm just giving one view. Therefore the dogs should be sacrificed?