12 stages of Sumbrada in Inosanto blend kali?

Mark Lynn

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I know there are some people of the list that study the Inosanto blend kali method. A while back I remember reading some discussion on the Sumbrada drills. Not sure if it was MT or maybe the escrima digest. Anyway I was wondering if you could help me out.

A friend loaned me an old grainy video tape of an Inosanto seminar from back in the 80's. (My wife walked in while I was watching it one day and asked "How can you watch that? The sound is terrible and you can't tell who's teaching") Anyway I can tell who it is. However Guro Dan is talking about how there are 12 levels of Sumbrada. And he states that #5 is Punyo Sumbrada.

Years ago I studied JKD/Kali before I switched over to the Presas Arnis methods. And I vaugely remember about hearing of 12 levels of Sumbrada, in my notes from that instructor I believe I have down completely different levels. So now I'm wondering what the 12 levels are?

He doesn't go into the rest of the levels at this seminar, at least I haven't seen them. Just wondering.

Thanks
Mark

bart

Brown Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey There,

When I was at the Inosanto Academy I asked about that and I saw a demonstration. I asked an instructor and he brought over two students and they did the demonstration while he walked away. I can't remember the details about it but it looked to be basically the same sequence of movements done with different methods of attack, each method of attack garnering its own number. Interestingly enough I repeated this question during another class with a different teacher and he demonstrated it with another student but not all 12, just a the first 3 or 4 I think. They reflected the same stuff, but they were in different order.