Yiquan E-book

OP
LiamBoyle

LiamBoyle

White Belt
Reaction score
I stand corrected about the principle of "Beautiful Lady's Hand." That would be why I added the "not that I am aware of" to that statement. I now know, so thank you for enlightening me.

Quotheraving

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Xuesheng, the essence of Yiquan is, you guessed it, Yi. Intention. If you read the PDF, you'll get a better idea of what the student is asked to do during standing practice.

Now, keep in mind, that these intentions can also be applied to the traditional standing postures of other arts with varying effects. The student is encouraged to experiment. It's this internal focus and aforementioned intention that makes this practice more than simply standing.

I've only been practising YiQuan for about a year so I should begin by qualifying this by saying that I'm no expert.

In my experience both of you are correct.
We do think nothing during practise and we do practise with intent.

Intent however is a vague and misleading term, what we try and do while practising combat postures is to imagine a pressure acting upon us so strongly that it becomes a palpable sensation.
The body reacts to the imagined pressure in the same (though less extreme) way it would to a real pressure, by stabilising and accepting this imagined force through the body and into the ground.
This effect becomes more pronounced the less tense the body is and this relaxed concentration helps prevent the mind from becoming distracted and straying into verbal thoughts.

It sounds a bit kooky and new agey with all that visualisation stuff but my ability to respond quickly to changes and ground pressure in push hands has massively improved as a result of practising Yiquan and I heartily recommend it to everyone.