Xingyquan - Master Bakari - A Question?

scottm

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm relatively new to practicing XY (about 3 years) and recently moved. Where I now live, the closest person who teaches XY is a gentleman named Master Alexander Bakari.

I took a trial class at his school recently and I noticed his XY is very different from the style I used to take (Hebei Style, Master Ch'ang Tung Sheng lineage). I haven't asked Master Bakari about his lineage because I didn't want to offend him by citing the differences in styles.

Has anyone heard of Master Alexander Bakari before and is he a competent teacher to take Xingyiquan from?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I took a trial class at his school recently and I noticed his XY is very different from the style I used to take (Hebei Style, Master Ch'ang Tung Sheng lineage). I haven't asked Master Bakari about his lineage because I didn't want to offend him by citing the differences in styles.

From the videos of him on Youtube his method is indeed strange. He starts off in a Ma bu(horse stance) instead of Santi. Being double weighted in Ma Bu is pretty much not done when doing the five element form.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dX_cHvxPr5k&feature=related

His Taiji form:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6zkV1oYeNU&feature=related

Others have asked him in regards to his Lineage but as far as I am aware of he has not answered. I am guessing according to his own accounts:
This is Yang Sha Hou style by way of Hou Chi Kwang. [/QUOTE
His Bagua he claims comes from Lu Hung Bin:
http://www.break.com/usercontent/2007/7/Ba-Gua-Masters-Videos-332890.html
Compare:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJl8qBfwTsw&feature=related

Lu's sword routine:
http://www.break.com/usercontent/2007/7/Tai-Chi-Sword-of-Lu-Hung-Bin-332903.html
compare:

**Note I am unsure if it is the same routine obviously there are differences and similarities.
More regarding Lu