With all the different Instructors out there.... are you confused as to where to go?

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
No. I have my instructor who clearly knows his stuff and his team of assistant instructors. I don't see a problem with where and how I plan to go [with my goals].

- Ceicei

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If my instructor were to cease operations in this town I would have a choice between Tracy's and Sepulveda's Kenpo (Mitchel's just skipped town with everyones money). I would be hard pressed to choose because they both have a history of strife with us. However I would probably choose one of the Sepulveda schools because I hear a couple of them are nice guys.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
This is an excellent question.

I have been studying for almost three years now at a school that we picked out of the phone book for my daughter. The school teaches 'Ed Parker American Kenpo'. When I started, the studio owner had a 4th degree black belt (currently a 5th). He studies with Mr. Planas. So, I believe that I am learning material from a Parker - Planas lineage, if you will.

Then I go and attend the Sunday seminars are the Internationals this year, and have a short class with Mr. Trejo, Mr. Gilbert, et al. The material I learn in these seminars is VASTLY different from what I have learned.

It makes you wonder how something as seemingly basic as a 'Twist Stance' can be interpreted and taught so differently.

At this point, I don't have enough of an understanding of the system to know what is right and what is wrong. I need to continue my studies with my current instructor, at least through the Black Belt level. He often adds the 'WHY' we do things to the material presented. And, I need to not attend seminars.