who studies Wing Chun

DarrenJew

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been studing Wing Chun for a while.
I started learning Wing Chun in 1976.(I was fifteen at the time) My first Sifu was Gate Chan 1976-78, later switched to Sifu Alex Wong (1980-84) but when does one really stop learning... Sifu Wong learned from Choi Seung Ting.

OP
bcbernam777

bcbernam777

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Alex Wong, have heard the name, and if he studied under Choi Seung Ting, then I am certain you have recieved quality Wing Chun instruction. Perhaps we can trade info, although I am certain you have more to teach me than Vice Verse considering your tutilage and length of time in the art

DarrenJew said:
I've been studing Wing Chun for a while.
I started learning Wing Chun in 1976.(I was fifteen at the time) My first Sifu was Gate Chan 1976-78, later switched to Sifu Alex Wong (1980-84) but when does one really stop learning... Sifu Wong learned from Choi Seung Ting.

DarrenJew

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Sure

From my impression of Wing Chun practitioners on the web is not very good (I’m sorry to say). Not in the way the practice their art, but in the way they treat each other. I feel that all Wing Chun brothers should be able to get along with each other. Wing Chun has always been sort of secretive in it’s training. Look at the third set "Bil Ji" if you visit different schools the "secret set"— though it may look similar, sometimes the order which the moves are performed is changed or a few moves have changed all together. This is due to the fact that, historically, this set is never demonstrated in public and passed from teacher to student in "secret". It almost guarantees variation between schools.