When Martial Arts was called Montu Arts and Nubian Wrestling (Article)

Black Belt Jedi

Blue Belt
Reaction score

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think martial art (martial being of Mars the Roman god of war) is surely only a nomenclature and no reliable indicator of history?

Surely have fighting systems not been around for as long as resources on those human evolutionary plains have been scarce? And formal systems for as long as we have evolved hierarchical societies and sought to convey our competitiveness in a non- "field" environment? I think it should be difficult to define the root of all fighting systems. And because an Ancient Egyptian one is before the early Roman epoch, surely that does not imply it is the root of all fighting art?

I am no expert, just my thoughts... Interesting treatise though. Thank you for sharing.

frank raud

Master of Arts
Reaction score
While there is no doubt that there were martial arts in Africa, this does not mean that it is the roots of all martial arts. This suffers the same kind of logic that all arts descend from Shaolin, or that all arts came from India. People have been fighting as long as the human race has been walking this earth, and many similarities in styles from distant locations is much easier to explain and understand as the human body is built the same way in every section of the world. There are height differences, and weight differences, but the standard is two arms, tow legs attached to a body. Therefore movement is going to be similar. Occam's razor will tell you that simultaneous development is much more likely than one tribe discovering how to fight with fists and feet, or how to wrestle, then showing the entire world how to do it.

Study the African arts, if that is what interests you. It is good for diversity and variation in the martial arts.

frank raud

Master of Arts
Reaction score