Weapons in Tang Soo Do

B

bigmac

The only weapon I have seen used in our hyongs is the Bo Staff. Are other weapons used in other schools? I studied Goju Ru years ago and our main weapon for forms were sai. Just curious. Also, are there hyungs specifically for weapons in TSD?
Thanks,
bigmac

tsdclaflin

Green Belt
Reaction score
Staff is the only really accepted weapon in our school. Upper black belts learn some sword stuff, but I don't think that it is part of the curriculum. My previous school taught nunchucks and sickles (can't remember the proper name right now) but again not as part of the curriculum.

OP
Y

Yossarian75

We practice the bong(2 forms), Nunchucks(2 forms), Dan Gum(1 form), and sword(2 forms).

I think the sicles are called Kama

OP
A

Andy Cap

TSD was originally a martial art for the people. Being as such, they used no weapons. Over the past 10-15 years people have started adding weapons to attract more interest. The staff, as far as I know is a traditional part of TSD, but at higher levels.

Butch

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
TSD is an empty hand art any weapons that anyone teaches is brought in from another art form.

Butch

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Butch said:
TSD is an empty hand art any weapons that anyone teaches is brought in from another art form.

Butch

This is technically correct, according to the Grandmaster's books, but the knife, the staff, and sword are taught and have been traditionally taught by the oldest masters in our art. These same masters train these weapons hard at dan level and THEY call it Tang Soo Do.

upnorthkyosa

Butch

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
They can call it TSD and it maybe part of their TSD, but TSD itself has no weapons. If you were to ask them if they or their Masters( if their Masters taught them) did they learn the weapons as part of TSD I would be willing to bet they would say no.
Butch

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score