trying to find a latigo - filipino fighting whip

P

percussiveone

greetings to all -

about 10 years ago, i studied an unorthodox fighting system, based loosely off JKD, where we learned boxing for close mid range, wing chun for close range, gracie jujitsu for grappling (we actually had Relson Gracie come in quite a few times to train us), etc, etc, and the arnis / kali / escrima sytems for weapons. i became good in my own right with the latigo. i am starting my training back up in my gym/garage, and i was trying to find a latigo on the internet, and i wasnt even able to find a decent picture anywhere... is it possibly known as another name, or is it really that hard to find somewhere to purchase them from? the 2 that i did own when i was training with them were about 40 bucks apiece - our instructor would order whatever we needed, but he didnt share his contact information very readily. anyone know where i might be able to find one?

OP
P

percussiveone

yeah - of course ive tried whip. everything that comes up is the traditional bullwhip and that sort of thing.

arnisandyz

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
there are different kinds of whip. So the one you are describing isn't similar to a bullwhip? Is it more like a riding crop?

OP
E

Emptyglass

Hi there:

My instructor, Guro Bobby Ladra, has a few latigo left for sale I believe. They're nice with rattan handles and multicolored pompoms near the grip. Let me know if you're interested and I'll see if I can take some pics for you of what we're using and ask him if he has any left that he could part with. By the way, I've got the sjambok from Cold Steel. The concept of its use is similar but they really don't feel alike in the hand. The sjambok feels more akin to a bladed weapon where the latigos we're using are much more stick/whip-like in my opinion.

Thanks,

Rich Curren

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Emptyglass said:
Hi there: