Trouble parents

grydth

Senior Master
Reaction score
Not to take issue with any specific person here, but this is awfully one sided. I don't see any parent stepping up, so I will.

For the record, I am both a long time practitioner and the parent of 2 girls who are red and brown belts in goju-ryu karate. We have a great dojo. Not counting all the extras, I pay in over 2k a year to the dojo, and I've been doing that for over 4 years. To me, that makes me a "respected long term customer", not a "trouble parent" when I have a concern. I deserve better treatment than the drunken bum who weaves in and throws up in the doorway.

One way to avoid "trouble parents" is to walk the walk yourselves. We were at a dojo where questionable contracts were to be required - - -"NO EXCEPTIONS" - - - only to have me walk in when the sensei was taking a cash payment from somebody else. Both of us quit.

I was at a tournament where 2 judges were openly coaching my daughter's opponent on the floor before the match - she came from their school. My daughter won the trophy anyway, but came off asking," Why did the judges want the other girl to win?" Did they hear from me? You bet! "Trouble parent"??? No, corrupt promoter and judges!

The ultimate authority over my kids' health and safety is me. Get used to that. I have pulled my kids off the floor when I saw them hurt. Call me a "trouble parent", but there's no sense turning a minor injury into a major one by not getting it prompt and proper care and rest.