Training Aids

kyushoT

White Belt
Reaction score
I am relatively new to Modern Arnis. I have been playing with the sticks for years... but have just recently started formal training.

When training some drills at home (partnerless) it seems to me that it would be advantageous to have something holding a stick/sticks that I could strike.

My question to you is:

Do you know of anything that serves such a purpose?Commercially available or home made. Please let me know.

:duel:

Tim P.

modarnis

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Obviously nothing beats a live training partner. Most of us who have trained in the FMA's for a while have numerous devices/contraptions when partners are not available.

I have a Silent Fighter dummy (designed by Datu Kelly Worden) It is a modern and padded version of a wing chun dummy with articulating limbs. Duct tape is useful for making this device hold a stick. It gives you some ability to visualize an attack or set range. The right amount of duct tape will allow you to affix a stick to any freestanding heavybag.

I also have an old tire outfitted with a loop of rope and a carabiner to hang where my heavy bag hangs. It is great for target training and full power striking.

Small trees outside with selectively pruned branches work well in a pinch too. they simulate arms and allow you to work on range finding while you free practice.

Just a few ideas. Use your imagination

Brett

arnisandyz

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
used to sell a"fighting man dummy" that could hold weapons. Dan Insoanto uses it in vol 6 of a FMA video series also sold by i & i to show disarms and followups.

I made a PVC dummy a while ago with limb extensions similar to a wing chun wooden dummy but with longer arms, it worked well for practicing sombrada.

dearnis.com

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Or, to go the cheap route....
2x4 upright in a 5 gal bucket of concrete.